Seppe Gebruers

Seppe Gebrue‍‍‍rs is a Belgian pianist, improviser and composer.

The improv music scene is already acquainted with his name, due to his delivered work in several adventurous projects like the large ensemble ‚Ifa y xango’, the piano duo with Erik Vermeulen, named ‚Antiduo, Bambi Pang Pang featuring the legendary Andrew Cyrille, his Solo and the trio with the pioneer Paul Lovens and Hugo Antunes (Seppe, Hugo and Paul).

His approach is far from traditional. Last years he decided to play two pianos tuned in quarter-tones. In this way he can explore microtonal music and confront the tuning in western world music orthodoxy.

It will be first heard on a recording to be released (2018) with t‍‍‍he trio Seppe, Hugo and Paul.

Seppe is also doing electronic live-processing with projects like Keenroh featuring Paul Lytton, Glin Fraktion and Ifa y Xa‍‍‍ngo Tentet. He is also playing church organ in a duo with Joachim Badenhorst.

Besides that Gebruers plays the piano in a improv trio with trumpeter Luis Vicente (Pt) and drummer Onno Govaert (NL).

In 2013, he graduated – Summa cum laude – from Antwerp conservatory, where he enjoyed a jazz education (with a.o. Erik Vermeulen as his teacher), as well as a classical schooling (tutored by a.o. Levente Kende).

Over the years, he wrote accompanying music for plays (with strong musical accents), such as ‚Omtrent Othello’ (Concerni‍‍‍ng Othello), ‚Wanneer de paarden sterven’ (When the horses pass away) and ‚4:3’ from ‚Tibaldus’. Gebruers composed also the music of 2 Short films by Pieter Dumoulin ‚Het zwijgen van Helena’ and ‚The Reconstruction’ (directed together with Timeau Dumoulin).
Seppe Gebruers is also a founder and the‍‍‍ artistic leader of Troika vzw and did numerous collaborations with el NEGOCITO Records and Citadelic.

Since the age of twelve, Seppe Gebruers plays at home and abroad. Starting with his piano trio, ‚Jazzfact’ (together with Nathan Wouters and Jakob Warmenbol)and later he performed with ‍‍‍ musicians such as Nate Wooley(US), Jim Black (US), Andrew D’Angelo (US), John Dikeman(us), Onno Govaert(NL), Seijiro Murayama(J), Léo Dupleix (Fr), Richard Comte (fr), Nicolas Field, Eric Thielemans,‍‍‍ Teun Verbruggen, Robin Verheyen, Joachim Badenhorst, Johan Graden (SE), Jasper Stadhouders (NL) and many others